Portrait Barbara Schmid-Federer

Barbara Schmid-Federer

Vice-President of the Swiss Red Cross

I want to commit myself wholeheartedly and with all my strength to the Swiss Red Cross, the unique aid organisation which, through the principles of its action, its long experience, the breadth of its work and its embedding in a worldwide movement, works for more humanity in this world.



Matteo Pedrazzini

President of the Geneva Red Cross

In Geneva, as around the world, the Red Cross works to preserve the dignity of people.

Faithful to its mission and committed to the principles of humanity, the Geneva Red Cross works tirelessly to provide local aid to the most vulnerable populations in the canton of Geneva.

Presentation of the Committees

The Red Cross Ball in Geneva is supported by many  friends  who sit on the various committees. This precious support enables the event to extend throughout Switzerland and beyond and plays a major role in the evening’s success. The commitment of the different committees make a considerable contribution.

Sheikh Mohammed El Khereiji

Honorary Chairman of the Swiss Red Cross Ball

Red Cross Ball Committee

Executive Committee members in 2021

Patronage Committee

State Council of the Republic and Canton of Geneva in corpore
State Chancellor
Executive Council of the City of Geneva
Mr Jagan Chapagain
General Secretary of the IFRC Societies
Mr Robert Mardini
General Director of the ICRC
Mrs Isabel Rochat
Chairwoman of the IRCM Foundation Board
Mr Jean-Pierre Greff
Director of the HEAD Geneva
Mr Christian Lüscher
Member of the National Council
Mr Raymond Loretan
Mr Bertrand and Mrs Michèle Piccard
Countess Barbara Zanon Di Valgiurata

Honorary Committee

Sheikh Mohammed El Khereiji
Honorary Chairman of the Swiss Red Cross Ball
Mr Segun Agbaje
Group CEO, Guaranty Trust Holding Company plc
Mr David Collas
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Mr Abdallah Chatila
President of m3 Group
Mrs Catherine de Marignac
Member of the IRCM Foundation Board

Swiss Red Cross

Mrs Barbara Schmid-Federer
Mr Markus Mader
General Director

Geneva Red Cross

Mr Matteo Pedrazzini
Mrs Stéphanie Lambert
General Director

Executive Committee in 2021

Mrs Absa Kane


When I was invited to join the Swiss Red Cross Ball committee in 2008, I was instantly inspired by the spirit of the Red Cross movement. I have since thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated working alongside my co-chairs and committee sisters, with generous and like-minded partners and donors, committed volunteers, teams and leaders of the Swiss and Geneva Red Cross societies.

Contributing with some of my time, contacts and passion to maintain the Swiss and Geneva Red Cross Ball as a flagship of Geneva charity events in support of the most vulnerable, with yearly visits of their truly impactful projects in Geneva and across the world, has been over this last decade a personal source of motivation and pride.

Mrs Dania Samawi


Being part of the Red Cross movement for the past eleven years has been an immense privilege.

This amazing journey taught  me that the greatest gift of all is the gift of giving.


Mrs Raheek Ador

Executive Committee Member

The COVID-19 crisis has shown us, more than ever, the importance of the work of humanitarian agencies, such as the Swiss Red Cross, to reach out and help forgotten and vulnerable people, in remote areas around the world.

The work of the Swiss Red Cross, its culture and ethics, correspond with my beliefs and my humanitarian experience around the world.

I am proud of being part of the Swiss Red Cross family and hope that together, we will be able to bring humanity and empathy to each and every one of us.

Mrs Elisabetta Boselli-Mauro

Executive Committee Member

I have always admired the Red Cross for its relentless pursuit to help those in need and for the relief efforts to which it contributes.

It is a distinct honor for me to be able to contribute as a member of the Geneva Ball Executive Committee.

Mrs Charlotte Henry

Executive Committee Member

Thank you so much to the Swiss Red Cross for allowing me to help keep this ball alive and growing.

Thanks to the funds collected and thanks to you, the Red Cross can support solidarity projects in Geneva and internationally.

In these particularly difficult times, solidarity is our strength.

Mrs Louise Lombard

Executive Committee Member

For me, the Red Cross is a symbol of help to the most deprived, of peace, of unity, of solidarity and selflessness.

Each gesture comes from the heart, out of love for others.

This is what motivates me to be part of the Ball Committee and to support the Swiss Red Cross projects.


Mrs Marianne Haddad Mazou

Executive Committee Member

My inception field trip to Yerevan, Armenia, transformed my life, and paved the way to a life of dedication to others in need.

I am very honored and proud to be a member of the Executive  Committee of the Red Cross Ball, and to be able to help raise awareness and funds on the occasion of the Ball  in order to finance projects on the ground.

Mrs Gwendolyn Samawi

Executive Committee Member

I am proud to be part of a team which works relentlessly to better the lives of those less fortunate.

Mrs Natalia Törnqvist

Executive Committee Member

I joined the Red Cross Ball committee in 2020. I respect and share the humanitarian principles of the Red Cross, such as humanity, impartiality, neutrality, independence, voluntary service, unity and universality.

I feel privileged to be part of the Red Cross Ball committee and to be able to help in such difficult times. Now, due to the pandemic, the Red Cross work is more important than ever.